

Magnetic Island Community Development Association

ABN: 88303909978 Incorporated Association: 11505

P.O. Box 133 Nelly Bay, Qld 4819

President: Libby Illidge E micda.president@gmail.com

MINUTES OF ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2024

Place: Lower Conference Room, "Amaroo", Mandalay Avenue, Magnetic Island.

Date:18th May 2024Chair:Libby IllidgeOpening:10:04 a.m.

Welcome

Interim President, Libby Illidge, welcomed all to the meeting, and acknowledged country, the Wulgurukaba people as the Traditional Custodians of Magnetic Island/Yunbenun, and paid respect to elders past, present and emerging.

Libby Illidge called for apologies and proxies.

Apologies:

Lorna Hempstead, Rose Gordon, Lea Scherl, Sara Shaw, Kaspa and Laurence Scheele, Diana Correa, Tania Thoreau, Peter Duckworth.

Proxies:

Lorna Hempstead to Libby Illidge. Rose Gordon to Libby Illidge. Dr Lea Scherl to Peter Jackson.

Present (Total: 27)

Management Committee: Peter Jackson, Libby Illidge, Carl van Wyk, Joe Niven.

Life Members: Les Sampson.

Financial Members: Meredyth Woodward, Bruce Hobby, Christine Sampson, Peter Illidge, Wendy Tubman, Sara Harrington, Jim McArthur, Mary Anne Anderson, Annie Niven, Julie Woodlock, Tim Hempstead, Darrie Lisle, Petra van den Berg, Steve Martland, Aniko Papp, Heidi Streiner, Adriana Labate, Colin Skinner, Bob Lloyd.

Non-members including non-financial members: Julie Carmody, Debbie Denison, Jodi Daly.

Minutes of 2023 AGM

The minutes of the 2023 AGM have been available to members via the MICDA website and email, and hard copies were available at the AGM.

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2004



Darrie Lisle moved that the minutes were an accurate record of the 2023 AGM, seconded by Peter Illidge, and carried by a show of hands of those present.

Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising.

President's Report

Libby Illidge presented the President's report (attached).

Libby thanked Les Sampson for his eight years of service in the President role, and advised the meeting that the Management Committee had endorsed Les as a Life Member of MICDA. Les has also accepted the Immediate Past President role on the Management Committee 2024/5.

Joe Niven moved that The President's report be accepted, seconded by Tim Hempstead, carried by a show of hands.

Treasurer's Report

Carl van Wyk presented the Treasurer's report, including the financial reports for the year 2023. The Auditor's statement was also provided in hard copy.

Carl clarified that MICDA's financial year is a calendar year, and this report covers the year concluding on 31st December 2023.

Carl spoke to the report. (report attached)

Questions were invited from the floor. There were no questions.

Tim Hempstead moved that the Treasurer's Report and Audited Financial Report for 2023 be accepted, seconded by Aniko Papp, and carried by a show of hands.

Management Committee Elections

All positions were declared vacant, and Libby Illidge passed the chair to Les Sampson to manage Management Committee Elections.

There were no nominations for President submitted within the application period. Nominations for the President position were invited from the floor. This resulted in the nomination of Libby Illidge, who accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations. The meeting voted Libby Illidge into the position of President, unopposed. Les Sampson then handed the chair back to Libby Illidge.

There were no nominations for Vice President submitted within the application period. Nominations for the Vice President position were invited from the floor. This resulted in the nomination of Joe Niven, who accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations. The meeting voted Joe Niven into the position of Vice President, unopposed.

There were no nominations for Treasurer submitted within the application period. A written nomination from Sara Harrington was received after the period and presented to the meeting. Nominations for the Treasurer position were invited from the floor. There were no further nominations. The meeting voted Sara Harrington into the position of Treasurer, unopposed.

Libby advised the meeting that the Management Committee had determined (as allowed in the MICDA constitution [Section 13(2)(i)]) to divide the office of Secretary into two positions. The position designated "Minutes Secretary" will carry the responsibilities of the Association

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2004



Secretary for the purposes of all Annual Returns to the State Government, and the person designated "Correspondence Secretary" will be regarded as an assistant to the Secretary.

There were no nominations for Secretary submitted within the application period. Nominations for the Minute Secretary position were invited from the floor. This resulted in the nomination of Peter Jackson, who accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations. The meeting voted Peter Jackson into the position of Minute Secretary, unopposed.

Nominations for the Correspondence Secretary position were invited from the floor. This resulted in the nomination of Mary Anne Anderson, who accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations. The meeting voted Mary Anne Anderson into the position of Correspondence Secretary, unopposed.

There was one nomination for Ordinary Member of the Management Committee received from Heidi Streiner within the application period. Libby advised the meeting that there is no limit on the number of Ordinary Members on the committee and further nominations were called from the floor. This resulted in the nomination of Jim McArthur, who accepted the nomination, and Carl van Wyk, who accepted the nomination. Libby invited the meeting to accept all three nominations, and this was carried by a show of hands.

Nominees, movers and seconders for these elected positions are summarized in the table below:

Position	Nominee	Moved	Seconded
President	Libby Illidge	Julie Woodlock	Joe Niven
Vice President	Joe Niven	Carl van Wyk	Mary Anne Anderson
Treasurer	Sara Harrington	Aniko Papp	Peter Jackson
Secretary - Minute	Peter Jackson	Julie Woodlock	Tim Hempstead
Secretary -	Mary Anne Anderson	Joe Niven	Peter Jackson
Correspondence			
Ordinary member	Carl van Wyk	Aniko Papp	Joe Niven
Ordinary member	Heidi Streiner	Lea Scherl	Peter Jackson
Ordinary member	Jim McArthur	Les Sampson	Libby Illidge

NOTE: As stated in the President's Report, Les Sampson has accepted the Management Committee position of Immediate Past President. A total of nine (9) members of the Management Committee with a quorum of five (5).

Appointment of Auditor

It was noted that the auditor appointed at the 2023 Annual General Meeting, O'Regan and Laird, had changed their company name to <u>AMW Audit</u> in early May 2024. Carl van Wyk moved that AMW Audit is re-appointed as MICDA auditor for 2024. Seconded by Sara Harrington. Carried by show of hands.

AMW Audit: Santos Place

Level 27/32 Turbot St Brisbane Qld 4000 ABN: 59 125 425 274

Registered Auditor Number: 314299

Ph: 1300 284 330

MAGNETIC ISLAND COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ASSOCIATION

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2004

Close

Libby closed the Annual General Meeting and invited attendees to stay for the General Meeting that would commence immediately.

Meeting closed at 10:28 p.m.

Appended Documents:

Attachment 1: Minutes of AGM 2023 final – endorsed.

Attachment 2: President's Report Attachment 3: Treasurer's Report

Attachment 4: 2023 Signed Audited Financial Statements

Attachment 5: Letter from Auditor to Management Committee.

Attachment 6: MICDA AGM 2024 - Attendance sheet A Attachment 7: MICDA AGM 2024 - Attendance sheet B

Attachment 8: MICDA Nomination Form – Heidi Streiner & Proxy Form 2024 – Lea Scherl

Attachment 9: MICDA Nomination Form - Sara Harrington

Attachment 10: Proxy Form 2024 - Rose Gordon Attachment 11: Proxy form - Lorna Hempstead 2024